Stopping the Progession of Emphysema

W. G. Miller, author of How I Reversed My Moms EmphysemaMy mother was diagnosed with emphysema in 2003. At first I made sure she took all of her medications and did all of her prescribed emphysema treatments. After more than two years she was noticeably worse. She had not smoked during this whole time so I was very puzzled as to what was causing her deterioration. I understood that smoking caused her emphysema but she was not smoking. When I asked her doctor why her emphysema was getting worse so long after she quit smoking he told me that they (the medical industry) did not know why emphysema continued progressing even when the patient quit smoking. He told me it was a mystery.

It seemed obvious that there must be something left over from smoking, some residual pathogen introduced into my mother’s lungs by cigarettes. The doctors were not acknowledging or addressing this apparent pathogenic invasion so, of course, it was not being treated. It continued growing and proliferating while the prescribed medications and emphysema treatments temporarily masked one symptom or another.

I was shocked that this was all the doctors, the medical industry and the pharmaceutical industry were doing in combatting this disease that was the fourth leading cause of death in the world according to the World Health Organization (WHO).

Conventional Emphysema Treatments

Once I realized the doctors were not even acknowledging what I saw as the primary issue with emphysema, namely that it was getting worse long after smoking cessation, I began looking for something that would stop the emphysema from proliferating any further. I thought if I could stop the progression of emphysema that would buy a little time while I looked for a way of reversing the disease altogether.

For some reason I was convinced that after many hours of prayer, God would help me find the answers. i have never been so sure of anything in my life! This, I was absolutely sure of! I hadn’t gone to medical school though I had taken a few graduate courses in Pathology, Pulmonary Physiology, Human Genetics and Histology. I didn’t remember a lot of the information but as a result of taking these classes I could easily discern between true scientific information that made logical sense and the erroneous statistical information published by pharmaceutical companies telling how great their newest drug was.

I knew all the drugs, regardless of what they were for, had numerous side-effects. I had read somewhere that the average 65 year old American was taking 10 medications. Then I also found that there were something like 57,000 drugs on the market and not one that cured a disease! I guess there is truly no money in curing anything. The month lies in treating or “managing” disease. If the pharmaceutical industry can convince you that your problem is genetic, they have no problem convincing you that you need a drug that will treat this disorder and finally that you need it for the rest of your life.

I am sure you have seen the drug advertisements on all the news programs (what a coincidence) that tell you the benefits of the new drug in 10 seconds and then spend the next 20 seconds describing the negative side-effects that result from taking the drug. I knew I wanted a natural supplement or treatment that would cause an actual healing effect. After all, masking symptoms is like running into a burning building and shutting off the fire alarm thinking it will put the fire out. As I am sure you know, this will never put out the fire! Of course, you cannot cure a disease by masking its symptoms. Realizing and understanding that does not require graduation from medical school. It is simple common sense.

Logical Emphysema Treatment

I remembered from pathology class that all pathogens have sugar as their food supply. That makes sense right? When we eat foods that are high in sugar content or foods that are broken down to sugar in only a few biochemical steps, we overload our body with systemic sugar. Biochemically, sugar must be “actively transported” across the cell membrane by insulin which is produced by the beta cells of the pancreas. The beta cells of the pancreas can only produce a set amount of insulin in a given amount of time. Therefore, when we overload out system with sugary foods we have sugar travelling through our bloodstream providing food for any and all pathogens that are present.

My idea was eliminating all sugar from my mother’s diet. Not just the foods that were obviously high in sugar content but also foods like potatoes and foods produced from grains like bread, pasta and cereal that would metabolize into sugar very rapidly once eaten. Either one of these groups would provide food for the pathogen. Logically, I thought taking these foods out of my mother’s diet would begin starving the pathogen and stop its proliferation, essentially stopping the progress of the disease.

I realized my mother would die very soon anyway and eliminating all these sugary foods would not hurt her. She had deteriorated down to only 77 pounds and required 4 liters of continuous supplemental oxygen. She could only eat tiny amounts of food or it would negatively affect her breathing and could only sleep for an hour at a time and even then only if she was propped up on 4 pillows.

Emphysema Treatment Begins Working

My mother September 2007. Early stages of recovery from emphysema.

My mother September 2007. Early stages of recovery from emphysema.

Amazingly, after only two weeks my mother was showing signs of improvement. She had been gasping for air most of the time on 4 liters of oxygen only two weeks earlier and now she was not showing any signs of distress. These were not huge improvements but they were extremely significant since they were the only lasting improvements she had shown since her diagnosis. During the entire time since her diagnosis she had taken all the prescribed medications, used her nebulizer four times a day with albuterol sulfate, went to Pulmonary Rehab twice a week and had deteriorated down to End Stage Emphysema. No lasting improvement only the temporary masking of symptoms by the drugs and emphysema treatments.

I realized these small improvements were not enough for complete recovery but it did show me that the doctors were not doing all that could be done. In their defense however, doctors are only as good as their training. Changing the diet would not earn them or the pharmaceutical industry any money. I can only assume this is why they knew nothing about the benefits brought on by this simple diet change.

Want to learn more about how my mother recovered completely from emphysema? Click the link below. Thanks for visiting and God bless you and your family.

Logical Emphysema Treatments

About W. Greg Miller

Engineering degree. Worked as a civil engineer and mathematician for a number of years. Entered the software industry in sales and marketing. National Sales Director for a medical software company. I took a leave of absence to take care of my mother who had been diagnosed with emphysema and COPD. Began researching emphysema and after more than 6500 hours of research I developed six general protocols that reversed my mother's emphysema. I have since helped more than 1100 other people in 6 different countries do the same through a book I wrote, "How I Reversed My Mom's Emphysema." The book is available at: http://www.emphysema-treatments.com
This entry was posted in emphysema, emphysema treatment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Stopping the Progession of Emphysema

  1. Hugh says:

    I do trust all of the ideas you have introduced on your post.

    They are really convincing and can certainly work.
    Nonetheless, the posts are very quick for novices. May just you
    please extend them a little from subsequent time?
    Thanks for the post.

  2. Outstanding post however I was wanting to know if
    you could write a litte more on this subject? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit further. Thank you!

  3. In case you have never been to our web site the address is: http://www.emphysema-treatments.com.

  4. Hellen says:

    I’m not sure what the rules are in the UK, but they tend to mirror the US. And asthma isn’t one of those listed.
    . . But even if they do restrict it, you can always apply for a waiver.

    It doesn’t matter which bureaucracy you’re in contact
    with, there’s always a way to outmaneuver a requirement.

    • Not sure what “rules” you are talking about. I did more than 6500 hours of research and never ran across any rules so you would need to clarify what you are talking about. The free diet book that is available on the following web site is very similar to the diet suggested by Dr. Fred Pescatore in his book, “The Allergy and Asthma Cure.” He details an 8-step cure for these ailments not a treatment to temporarily mask symptoms.

      Certainly if your purpose is to temporarily mask symptoms, non-medication choices such as respitrol would be a much better choice than prescription meds every day. I also agree that it is important for asthma sufferers to mask symptoms on a regular basis until they eliminate the symptoms.

      By the way, the book, “How I Reversed My Mom’s Emphysema” details the diet and the entire list of supplements I used to completely reverse my mother’s emphysema. This book has now sold in 17 countries as of today when the first book was purchased from someone in Russia. So far more than 5000 people have completely recovered from COPD or are in the process.

      Why does it work?
      I believe it works because COPD is a result of a pathogen entering the lungs usually from smoking or second-hand smoke. This pathogen continues proliferating until either it kills you or you kill it.

      Want to know how to kill it?
      Start with the free diet book available at: http://www.emphysema-treatments.com.

      I hope this helps you. My good friend used this diet and supplements to completely eliminate his asthma and allergies. It took an entire year but he is completely free of all symptoms and has been for almost 2 years now.

Leave a Reply

